The goal is to implement the baseline sequential DCT based (Lossy) JPEG encoder and decoder as described by the ISO-IEC-10918-1-1993 standard. The major steps in JPEG coding involve:

  • Pre-processing of the image
    • RGB ↔ YCbCr conversion
    • Subsampling 4:4:4, 4:2:2 and 4:2:0
  • Samples dissociation
    • Block [8x8] DCT Transform: Spatial Domain Representation ↔ Frequency Domain Representation
  • Image compression
    • Block [8x8] Quantization and De-Quantization
    • Run-length calculation
    • Huffman coding

For a more detailed explanation of the steps -in Greek- check the associated PDF file.

Georgios Balaouras
Georgios Balaouras
Data Scientist

My research interests include Computer Vision with a healthy pinch of problem solving.